Alvaro Bautista and Return in Top Form with Hat Trick Victory

February 27, 2023Steve Rable

Defending champion Alvaro Bautista, racer for Racing Ducati team  wasted no time setting the tone for the 2023 WSBK Season. Bautista dominated the competition in wet condition in race one. After starting from P2 Bautista was able to overtake pole sitter Toprak Razgatlioglu on the start. From this point on Razgatlioglu started to fall behind and the race soon became a head to head battle between Bautista and rival Jonathan Rea of Kawasaki Racing WSBK. Ultimately Bautista was able to hold off Rea in a wet weather racing masterclass of defense and race craft. 

Race two is where it all started to go wrong for Jonathan Rea. Falling off pace and trickling down the order Rea finished P7 while Bautista secured another victory which increased the season point deficit for Rea to 31 points on the season. Rea will need to bounce back in Indonesia to stand a chance at maintain championship hopes this season. With Bautista winning both races and Superpole it is clear he has no intention of slowing down from where he left off in 2022. Racing Ducati teammate Michael Rinaldi took P2 in Race two and Superpole which helped maximize points for the camp after Rinaldi finished P14 in disappoint race one.

The rest of the field had no answers for Racing Ducati this weekend and they will all need a strong showing at Round 2 in Indonesia if they want to stay in the title fight.

Photo Courtesy of

Top 10 Race One Results

PositionRiderTeam Time (Δ)
1Alvaro BautistaAruba.It Racing Ducati22 Laps
2Jonathan ReaKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+3.471s
3Toprak RazgatliogluPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK+6.168s
4Andrea LocatelliPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK+16.789s
5Axel BassaniMotocorsa Ducati+20.918s
6Iker LecuonaTeam HRC WorldSBK+27.015s
7Danilo PetrucciBarni Spark Ducati Team+30.383s
8Xavi ViergeTeam HRC WorldSBK+30.625s
9Scott ReddingBMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+37.447s
10Garrett GerloffBonovo Action BMW+42.591s

Top 10 Race Two Results

PositionRiderTeam Time (Δ)
1Alvaro BautistaAruba.It Racing Ducati22 Laps
2Michael RinaldiAruba.It Racing Ducati+6.191s
3Andrea LocatelliPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK+9.099s
4Axel BassaniMotocorsa Ducati+11.680s
5Philipp OettlGoEleven Ducati+12.020s
6Iker LecuonaTeam HRC WorldSBK+13.701s
7Dominique AegerterGRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+14.316s
8Jonathan ReaKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+14.753s
9Danilo PetrucciBarni Spark Ducati Team+18.745s
10Remy GardnerGRT Yamaha+21.331s