Jorge Martin Tops the Table at COTA in FP2

April 14, 2023Ray Milton

After a blazing FP1 that saw Mooney VR46 rider Luca Marini top the table. Jorge Martin came back and nearly broke the MotoGP lap record at Circuit of the Americas. Martin logged a 2m02.178s. Just shy of the current All-Time Lap Record of 2:02.039. Francesco Bagnaia bounced back after FP1 to run second fastest. FP2 was full of drama and on track incidents. The session started with uncertainty related to the weather. Luckily the rain stayed away. However, the session ended with 6 crashes which shook up the field.

Second place championship standing sitter Marco Bezzecchi was one of those unlucky riders. Miguel Oliveira was also one of the unlucky after missing the race in Argentina due to injury. He came back strong, but shortly after finding pace he had a mid speed low side slide out. After the first incident he still was 3rd fastest but ended up crashing a second time and ended the session 15th fastest. He appears to be unharmed by the incident and should be good to go for tomorrows activities.

In a great effort for Honda, LCR Honda Castrol rider Alex Rins went 3rd fastest 2 tenths behind the FP2 leader. Monster Energy Yamaha rider Fabio Quartararo found some redemption with his pace this season running 7th fastest but still will be looking to improve to return the the top 5 running as was the case in his championship year.

2023 COTA Practice 2 Results are Below.

1Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP23)2’02.178s
2Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP23)+0.063s
3Alex RinsSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.217s
4Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+0.238s
5Alex MarquezSPAGresini Ducati (GP22)+0.504s
6Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)+0.539s
7Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.543s
8Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.557s
9Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)+0.587s
10Jack MillerAUSRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.663s
11Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+0.700s
12Joan MirSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.726s
13Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.030s
14Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)+1.151s
15Miguel OliveiraPORRNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)+1.162s
16Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.265s
17Michele PirroITADucati Lenovo (GP23)+1.507s
18Raul FernandezSPARNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)+1.512s
19Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP22)+1.901s
20Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.951s
21Augusto FernandezSPATech3 GASGAS (RC16)*+2.383s
22Jonas FolgerGERTech3 GASGAS (RC16)+4.351s