McLaughlin Takes the Late Win at Barber Denying Grosjean

April 30, 2023Steve Rable
NTT Indy Car

The NTT IndyCar series visited Barber Motorsports Park for the 4 installment of IndyCar racing in 2023. Scott McLaughlin took the win after a late mistake and technical issue occurred with Andretti driver Romain Grosjean. Grosjean started the race on pole after an incredible qualifying. However strategy coupled with a bit of luck led McLaughlin to the top of the podium. McLaughlin utilized a 3 stop strategy which most opted to forgo given the history of success with this strategy at Barber.

Driver Thoughts

McLaughlin spoke to and stated, “I call it a happy driver strategy. I was a lot happier doing [the three stops]. My team advanced me to Victory Lane, we had great fuel and went past Grosjean on a little bit of strategy. I feel really pumped about it. Super pumped… May is going to be an awesome time for us, I can’t wait. To end April like this before the best race in the world, just super proud of my team and with Chevy we had great fuel mileage and a hell of a strategy.” McLaughlin led the race for 24 laps. Grosjean whom led for 57 laps seemed to have his strategy perfected. However, after running wide in Turn 5 on lap 72 Grosjean was no able to recover.

He stated, “This hurts,” referring to another 2nd place finish after leading the race. “The three-stop never wins at Barber, but today it did. The pits stayed open on that yellow, and it gave Scotty and Will a chance to go three. I just got unlucky with that yellow, but (team co-owner and his strategist) said ‘Don’t have your head down. That was one of the best drivers I’ve ever seen. I gave it all, but congrats to Scott. He deserved the win.”

Will Power’s Amazing Day

Tema Penske driver Will Power had an amazing day at Barber, “It was an extremely good day. When I saw so many people saving fuel there, and we’d talked about doing a three-stop, I felt it was better to do that, and my guys made the call. We were just super-fast when we got clear air; that was the key to getting up to third. I had a really fast car, it was a pity we didn’t start further up. Chevy did a great job with the engine. We’re on another championship run, we’re just chipping away here, we’re going to get a win here soon. We’ve gotta keep at it and improve in qualifying. I’m enjoying this a lot.”

Full Race Results are Below

PNameLapsDiffPitsBest TimeLedTop SpeedEnginePointsTeam
1Scott McLaughlin90LAP 9031:08.494424120.886Chevy119Team Penske
2Romain Grosjean901.785421:08.682757120.554Honda115Andretti Autosport
3Will Power903.269931:07.80223122.120Chevy104Team Penske
4Pato O’Ward9020.574521:09.2399 119.584Chevy127Arrow McLaren
5Alex Palou9020.976221:09.0892 119.845Honda121Chip Ganassi Racing
6Christian Lundgaard9023.531921:09.4275 119.261Honda77Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
7Scott Dixon9024.276921:08.7235 120.483Honda98Chip Ganassi Racing
8Alexander Rossi9025.058231:08.5979 120.703Chevy72Arrow McLaren
9Felix Rosenqvist9025.510731:08.4305 120.999Chevy66Arrow McLaren
10Marcus Ericsson9026.019021:08.9389 120.106Honda130Chip Ganassi Racing
11Marcus Armstrong9028.552721:09.1321 119.771Honda62Chip Ganassi Racing
12Kyle Kirkwood9036.366721:08.8680 120.230Honda92Andretti Autosport
13Callum Ilott9042.444131:08.6759 120.566Chevy80Juncos Hollinger Racing
14Colton Herta9043.778121:08.6952 120.532Honda85Andretti Autosport w/Curb-Agajanian
15Josef Newgarden9045.734631:08.24436121.329Chevy105Team Penske
16Rinus VeeKay9055.111821:09.4846 119.163Chevy47Ed Carpenter Racing
17Graham Rahal9056.442231:08.9836 120.029Honda65Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
18Simon Pagenaud9056.750021:09.5139 119.113Honda45Meyer Shank Racing
19David Malukas9057.765031:09.2205 119.618Honda74Dale Coyne Racing with HMD
20Santino Ferrucci9058.510631:09.2719 119.529Chevy44AJ Foyt Enterprises
21Helio Castroneves9060.084721:09.4359 119.247Honda45Meyer Shank Racing
22Benjamin Pedersen9061.306331:09.1335 119.768Chevy34AJ Foyt Enterprises
23Devlin DeFrancesco9063.192421:09.7214 118.758Honda33Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport
24Jack Harvey9064.539321:09.7208 118.759Honda43Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
25Conor Daly9065.605531:08.4463 120.971Chevy38Ed Carpenter Racing
26Agustin Canapino9066.148331:09.4031 119.303Chevy47Juncos Holling Racing
27Sting Ray Robb36Mechanical21:09.1551 119.731Honda37Dale Coyne Racing w/RWR