Chelsea Denofa Wins the Formula Drift PRO Round 3 in Orlando

May 29, 2023Pam Ghee
Formula Drift

As the drivers arrived to the circuit many were relieved to find dry conditions after the competition in 2022 was plagued with tropical storm rains. 32 drivers qualified for the main competition. Formula DRIFT made some minor revisions the layout of the figure-8 course for this year. The Outside of Zone 1 was lengthened and the Outside of Zone 2 shortened slightly to improve the flow of the course. The top qualifier Ryan Tuerck (USA) drove his Rain-X / Nitto Tire / Rockstar Energy GR Corolla into the top spot with a 94.6-point first run. One point separated the top 3 drivers making the round really anyone’s competition to take. The competition was fierce with multiple drivers pushing past the limit.

Second place qualifier and event winning Chelsea Denofa stated, “It was a gnarly event and the team worked extremely hard all weekend. We worked through a number of gremlins in practice and the car was there when I needed it. Everything went well, and after our One More Time in the Top 32 we won all the battles with the chase run and clean leads. It worked out really well because we have a great car for this track – it’s only one turn, so it can’t be that hard!” He continued, “We need to fix the car before New Jersey because it’s so battered. The crew will get it back together and we’ve got a good set up for Englishtown, so we’ll try to get on the podium again.” The win brought Denofa from 10th in the championship to 2nd 13 points behind championship leader Fredric Aasbo.

Round 3 FD PRO Top 16 Drivers Championship PointsRound 3

1Chelsea DeNofa102
2Fredric Aasbo88
3Kazuya Taguchi77
4Dylan Hughes64
5Ryan Tuerck51
6Travis Reeder48
7James Deane48
8Simen Olsen48
9Aurimas Bakchis32
10Dan Stuke32
11Jonathan Hurst32
12Forrest Wang32
13Chris Forsberg32
14Matt Field32
15Darren Kelly32
16Kristaps Bluss32


1Fredric Aasbo196
2Chelsea DeNofa183
3Matt Field180
4James Deane146
5Chris Forsberg136
6Dylan Hughes128
7Jonathan Hurst128
8Aurimas Bakchis125
9Rome Charpentier120
10Ryan Tuerck118
11Forrest Wang114
12Kazuya Taguchi109
13Vaughn Gittin Jr103
14Simen Olsen96
15Dan Stuke96
16Kristaps Bluss96

About Formula Drift

Formula DRIFT is recognized as the leading international drifting championship. Established on the streets of Japan, drifting has evolved into a worldwide competitive sport that challenges the driver’s skill while demanding a great deal from their vehicle in terms of power and strength. Formula DRIFT provides a series for the best professional drifters from around the globe to compete for the coveted title of Formula DRIFT Champion. As the first official drifting series in North America, Formula DRIFT has taken competitive motorsports to the extreme, attracting drift fans and car enthusiasts from all walks of life, and established itself as the global leader for the sport. For a competition schedule, ticket information, special content and livestream, please visit