Verstappen Takes Pole, Hulkenberg Loses Front Row Qualifying Spot

June 17, 2023Ramon Jones
Featured ArticleFormula 1

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) continues his dominance by securing yet another pole position in Canada. The Canadian Grand Prix Qualifying session took place in wet conditions which served as the great equalizer amongst drivers. The driver that benefitted the most from the weather was Nico Hulkenberg 9Haas). At the end of Q3 Hulkenberg had secured what seemingly was a typo on the session results. P2 in qualifying for a Haas car is not something an F1 fan sees everyday. Unfortunately for Nico Hulkenberg that triumph would be cut short quickly as the FIA stewards found him guilty of a speeding violation under a red flag. The finish is still a promising one. It is the highest Nico Hulkenberg has qualified all season. The full report can be view below:

One driver that can’t seem to shake the misfortune recently is Sergio Perez (Red Bull). Perez stated to the media, “Definitely not feeling great, not going through a great moment,” after qualifying P12 in Canada. The second place championship point sitter has not been in great form for the last two races and Red Bull was hoping that things might turn around in Canada during qualifying. That change did not come however. Perez will have to fight tooth and nail to move up into the podium places. The worst of the weather seems to have come and passed. More dry conditions are expected tomorrow.

After the session championship points leader Max Verstappen stated, “I do think the car improved to drive. It was super slippery out there, but we made all the right calls so, of course, I’m very happy to be on pole here. Maybe it’s dry tomorrow, but we have a good race car.” Full qualifying results after all penalties were applied are below.

F1 2023 Canadian Grand Prix Qualifying Results

1 Max VerstappenRed Bull1’25.858 
2 Nico HulkenbergHaas1’27.1021.244
3 Fernando AlonsoAston Martin1’27.2861.428
4 Lewis HamiltonMercedes1’27.6271.769
5 George RussellMercedes1’27.8932.035
6 Esteban OconAlpine1’27.9452.087
7 Lando NorrisMcLaren1’28.0462.188
8 Carlos SainzFerrari1’29.2943.436
9 Oscar PiastriMcLaren1’31.3495.491
10 Alex AlbonWilliams  
11 Charles LeclercFerrari1’20.615 
12 Sergio PerezRed Bull1’20.959 
13 Lance StrollAston Martin1’21.484 
14 Kevin MagnussenHaas1’21.678 
15 Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo1’21.821 
16 Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri1’22.746 
17 Pierre GaslyAlpine1’22.886 
18 Nyck de VriesAlphaTauri1’23.137 
19 Logan SargeantWilliams1’23.337 
20 Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo1’23.342