Watkins Glen Qualifying Abandoned Due Weather and Crashes

June 24, 2023Ramon Jones

The Sahlen’s 6 Hours of Glen Qualifying session has been abandoned due to concerns surrounding weather. The rain has been on and off all weekend at Watkins Glen and this morning it fell in heavy fashion just after FP2. At the beginning of qualifying there was a large pile up involving multiple LMP2/LMP3 cars. The crashes resulted in the GTP qualifying session being abandoned. By rule the grid order was set by the current team championship standing. By default the Porsche Penske No. 06 car will assume pole position for the GTP class. In P2 sits the No. 31 Whelen Engineering Cadillac. Third on grid is the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura ARX-06 GTP car which ran 7th fastest in FP2.


Similarly to the GTP class the grid will be by championship standing. The No. 11 TDS Racing car will start from pole. Behind our pole sitter was No. 52 PR1 car. The Team will be busy becasue the car requires some work to get it race ready. The No. 08 Tower Motorsports car will start third. In LMP3 is the No. 74 Riley car will start from pole ahead of the #13 AWA machine. Third on the grid is the No. 85 JDC Motorsports P2 car.

The rain was the heaviest at the beginning of the session for LMP2/LMP3. A few cars came out on full wet tires but shortly after starting the session hydroplaned off of the track. The slide out led to a pile-up that ended the qualifying session. All drivers involved in the crash walked away uninjured in the incident.


The GTD/GTD Pro classes are the only WeatherTech Sportscar Championship classes that were able to complete qualifying. In GTD, the No. 78 US RaceTronics Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo2 is on pole. The No. 12 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3 finished in second. In third was the No. 83 Iron Lynx Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO2. In GTD Pro the No. 62 Risi Competizione Ferrari 296 GT3 secured pole ahead of the No. 63 Iron Lynx Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo2. The No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3 finished third fastest in class.

Racing begins at 07:00am tomorrow June 25th. For more information visit IMSA