Red Bull Secure a Double Podium, Leclerc Back in Form

July 2, 2023Ramon Jones
Formula 1

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) wins the Austrian Grand Prix on a perfect weekend. Verstappen secured pole position for the sprint race and main grand prix and won both from the front. This win marks 5 wins in a row for the defending champion. Verstappen had the following words with after the race,“I think the most important [thing] for me was Lap 1, to stay in front. After that we could do our own race.”

“Of course we opted not to box during the Virtual Safety Car, and just follow our normal strategy, and I think that worked out really well. The tire [degradation] was not that high around here and our stints were perfect, so a great day – I enjoyed it a lot!”

He Continued Discussing the Events Under the Virtual Safety Car

“I could see already the few laps before the Virtual Safety Car came out, we were pulling out quite a gap, so I knew I would get them back eventually. I think just following our own plan at the time was the best way forward.”

The FIA stewards appeared to be very strict on track limits this year with multiple drivers receiving penalties from breaching track limits. The penalties prompted all of the teams to adjust starting strategies. There was only one retired from the race when Nico Hulkenberg (Haas) had a mechanical issue that saw his car grid to a halt on lap 14 of the race. We suspect a gearbox failure.

Charles Leclerc has finally returned to the podium after a number of mechanical failures and unlucky track incidents have robbed him of competing for the championship this year. The Ferraris have fallen backwards in terms of performance compared to Red Bull in 2023. However, a podium at the Austrian Grand Prix is never a negative thing. Ferrari will look to build off of this momentum.

Full Austrian Grand Prix Results are Below

PositionDriver  Time  Delay  Lap 
Max Verstappen1’07.012 71
Sergio Pérez1’08.1111.09952
Lance Stroll1’08.4631.45157
Lando Norris1’08.7391.72748
Charles Leclerc1’08.8201.80851
Carlos Sainz Jr.1’08.8801.86850
Pierre Gasly1’09.0462.03448
Fernando Alonso1’09.1082.09654
Lewis Hamilton1’09.1602.14848
10 George Russell1’09.2832.27149
11 Alexander Albon1’09.5602.54853
12 Logan Sargeant1’09.6112.59945
13 Yuki Tsunoda1’09.6202.60845
14 Zhou Guanyu1’09.7862.77446
15 Esteban Ocon1’09.7972.78550
16 Nyck de Vries1’09.8522.84046
17 Oscar Piastri1’09.8622.85046
18 Valtteri Bottas1’09.9402.92849
19 Kevin Magnussen1’10.1763.16437
20 Nico Hülkenberg1’11.0664.0547