Verstappen Handed 5 Place Grid Penalty in Qualifying, Leclerc Takes Pole

July 28, 2023Ramon Jones
Formula 1

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) finished on pole but has been handed a 5 place grid penalty for the Belgian Grand Prix after fitting a fifth gear box. This is one gear box over the season limit for each car on the grid. The penalty will apply to Sunday’s race. Despite running fastest in Q3 Verstappen would be demoted to P6 after the penalty. This allowed Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) to inherit pole for the Grand Prix. Red Bull teammate Sergio Perez moved up to P2 due to the penalty.

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) and Oscar Piastri also benefitted from the Verstappen penalty and will start in the top 5 on Sunday. The starting grid order is below

Belgian Grand Prix Starting Grid, Leclerc on Pole

  1. Charles Leclerc (16), Ferrari
  2. Sergio Perez (11), Red Bull-Honda RBPT
  3. Lewis Hamilton (44), Mercedes
  4. Carlos Sainz (55), Ferrari
  5. Oscar Piastri (81), McLaren-Mercedes
  6. Max Verstappen (1), Red Bull-Honda RBPT
  7. Lando Norris (4), McLaren-Mercedes
  8. George Russell (63), Mercedes
  9. Fernando Alonso (14), Aston Martin-Mercedes
  10. Lance Stroll (18), Aston Martin-Mercedes
  11. Yuki Tsunoda (22), AlphaTauri-Honda RBPT
  12. Pierre Gasly (10), Alpine-Renault
  13. Kevin Magnussen (20), Haas-Ferrari
  14. Valtteri Bottas (77), Alfa Romeo-Ferrari
  15. Esteban Ocon (31), Alpine-Renault
  16. Alexander Albon (23), Williams-Mercedes
  17. Zhou Guanyu (24), Alfa Romeo-Ferrari
  18. Logan Sargeant (2), Williams-Mercedes
  19. Daniel Ricciardo (3), AlphaTauri-Honda RBPT
  20. Nico Hulkenberg, (27), Haas-Ferrari

Belgian Grand Prix TV/streaming schedule

All times are EST

7:25 – 8:30 a.m.: Free practice 1 (ESPN2, F1 TV Pro)
10:55 a.m. – Noon: Qualifying (ESPN2, F1 TV Pro)

6:25 – 7:30 a.m.: Sprint shootout (ESPN2, F1 TV Pro)
10:25 – 11:30 a.m.: Sprint (ESPN2, F1 TV Pro)

7:30 – 8:55 a.m.: Pre-race show (ESPN)
8:55 – 11 a.m.: Belgian Grand Prix (ESPN, F1 TV Pro)

Tomorrow morning is the Sprint Shootout to determine the grid for the Sprint Race.