MotoGP: Aleix Espargaro Wins the British Grand Prix

August 6, 2023Ray Milton

Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing) secured the team’s first win of the season at Silverstone for the British Grand Prix. Espargaro started the race from P12. The race was yet again plagued with rain. Some teams opted for rains but the rain seemed to subside as soon as rain tires went on.

Espargaro’s win came at the demise of Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo) who Espargaro passed on the second to last corner to take the lead and win the race. Brand Binder rounded out the top three in the race. It was heartbreaking for Bagnaia after he had bounced back after a slow start to the weekend. Bagnaia finished p14 in the Sprint Race and looked to bounce back. The P2 finish in the Grand Prix was a bit of damage control for the championship standings. Bagnaia had lost ground to Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) due to the result in the Tissot Sprint Race. Bagnaia held a 27 point lead prior to the Grand Prix ahead of Bezzecchi. Bezzecchi missed the opportunity to close the gap as he crashed out of the Grand Prix. Bagnaia extends his championship lead to 47 points due to the Bezzecchi DNF. Bezzecchi also loses a position to Jorge Martin (Prima Pramac Racing) who now sits in seconds place; 41 points behind Bagnaia.

There were 5 retirements in the Grand prix which included, Marco Bezzecchi, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda), Enea Bastianini (Ducati Lenovo), Alex Marquez (Gresini Ducati) and Joan Mir (Repsol Honda). It was a disappointing day for the Repsol Honda team. Both riders had made progress over the weekend but to have both riders DNF is not how the team wanted to end the weekend.

Full Race Results are Below

1Aleix EspargaroAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)
2Francesco BagnaiaDucati Lenovo (GP23)+0.215s
3Brad BinderRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.680s
4Miguel OliveiraRNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)+0.750s
5Maverick ViñalesAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)+2.101s
6Jorge MartinPramac Ducati (GP23)+7.903s
7Luca MariniMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+9.099s
8Jack MillerRed Bull KTM (RC16)+9.298s
9Johann ZarcoPramac Ducati (GP23)+9.958s
10Raul FernandezRNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)+19.947s
11Augusto FernandezTech3 GASGAS (RC16)*+20.296s
12Pol EspargaroTech3 GASGAS (RC16)+66.120s
13Fabio Di GiannantonioGresini Ducati (GP22)+87.605s
14Franco MorbidelliMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+88.913s
15Fabio QuartararoMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+89.075s
16Takaaki NakagamiLCR Honda (RC213V)+98.573s
17Iker LecuonaLCR Honda (RC213V)+109.674s
 Enea BastianiniDucati Lenovo (GP23)DNF
 Marc MarquezRepsol Honda (RC213V)DNF
 Marco BezzecchiMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)DNF
 Alex MarquezGresini Ducati (GP22)DNF
 Joan MirRepsol Honda (RC213V)DNF

New Championships Standings

1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP23)214 
2Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP23)173(-41)
3Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)167(-47)
4Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)131(-83)
5Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP23)122(-92)
6Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)107(-107)
7Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)107(-107)
8Jack MillerAUSRed Bull KTM (RC16)90(-124)
9Alex MarquezSPAGresini Ducati (GP22)75(-139)
10Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)74(-140)
11Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)65(-149)
12Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)59(-155)
13Augusto FernandezSPATech3 GASGAS (RC16)*49(-165)
14Alex RinsSPALCR Honda (RC213V)47(-167)
15Miguel OliveiraPORRNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)40(-174)
16Fabio di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP22)37(-177)
17Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)34(-180)
18Enea BastianiniITADucati Lenovo (GP23)18(-196)
19Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)15(-199)
20Raul FernandezSPARNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)14(-200)
21Dani PedrosaSPAKTM Test Rider (RC16)13(-201)
22Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Factory (RS-GP23)9(-205)
23Jonas FolgerGERTech3 GASGAS (RC16)9(-205)
24Michele Ducati (GP23)5(-209)
25Joan MirSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)5(-209)
26Danilo PetrucciITADucati Lenovo (GP23)5(-209)
27Stefan BradlGERLCR Honda (RC213V)5(-209)
28Pol EspargaroSPATech3 GASGAS (RC16)4(-210)
29Iker LecuonaSPALCR Honda (RC213V)0(-214)