Verstappen Wins the Sao Paulo Sprint Race

November 4, 2023Ramon Jones
Formula 1

After starting from P2 Verstappen got the holeshot up the hill into turn 1 during the Sao Paulo Sprint to take the lead from Lando Norris off of the starting line. Verstappen wouldn’t look back and would continue to extend his lead for all 24 laps of the Sprint race. Norris fell behind early in the race to Sergio Perez but was able to retake second place shortly after. Norris and Verstappen pulled away from the rest of the pack but the battle for third behind saw a few position changes in the early stages of the race.

The majority of the teams chose to run the 24 lap stent on soft tires. Soft tires appeared to be the correct choice especially in the fight for third between Sergio Perez, George Russell and Lewis Hamilton. Sergio Perez finished the race in P3 ahead of George Russell and Lewis Hamilton in fourth and seventh. The finish improve his lead for second place in the championship to 24 points. Perez has his work cut out for him in tomorrow’s race. Starting from P9 he will have to create some magic to outscore Hamilton. We anticipate he will opt for a long stent on a set of hard tires to start the race to see if he can make up time in the pit window.

Yuki Tsunoda Scores First Sprint Points for Alpha Tauri

Yuiki Tsunoda finished the sprint in P6 scoring points in a Sprint race. Tsunoda got a late draft on Lewis Hamilton in the closing stages of the race. With the help of DRS Tusnoda was able to make the pass and finish ahead of Hamilton. The finish was the first point scoring finish for Alpha Tauri in a sprint race. Both Tsunoda and Ricciardo finished in the top 10 but points are only awarded for the top 8 in the sprint race. The finish bumped Alpha Tauri up in the constructors standing ahead of Alpha Romeo as they look to challenge Williams for P6.

Full Sprint Race Results are Below

PositionDriver Car / Engine  Laps  Gap Points
Max VerstappenRed Bull/Honda RBPT248
Lando NorrisMcLaren/Mercedes24-4.2877
Sergio PérezRed Bull/Honda RBPT24-13.6176
George RussellMercedes24-25.8795
Charles LeclercFerrari24-28.5604
Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri/Honda RBPT24-29.2103
Lewis HamiltonMercedes24-34.7262
Carlos Sainz Jr.Ferrari24-35.1061
Daniel RicciardoAlphaTauri/Honda RBPT24-35.303
10 Oscar PiastriMcLaren/Mercedes24-38.219
11 Fernando AlonsoAston Martin/Mercedes24-39.061
12 Lance StrollAston Martin/Mercedes24-39.478
13 Pierre GaslyAlpine/Renault24-40.621
14 Esteban OconAlpine/Renault24-42.848
15 Alexander AlbonWilliams/Mercedes24-43.394
16 Kevin MagnussenHaas/Ferrari24-56.507
17 Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo/Ferrari24-58.723
18 Nico HülkenbergHaas/Ferrari24-1’00.330
19 Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo/Ferrari24-1’00.749
20 Logan SargeantWilliams/Mercedes24-1’00.945

Sao Paulo Grand Prix action kicks off at 12:00pm ET.