Nitrocross Phoenix Jansson Wins NEXT Round Five

November 11, 2023Joe Moore

Nitrocross Phoenix day one has come to an end, Casper Jansson claimed his second win of the season at the event.


Casper Jansson topped the first NEXT heat of Nitrocross Phoenix. Setting a time 0.829 seconds faster than championship leader Jimmy Henderson. Lia Block finished third fastest, 0.264 seconds slower than Henderson. Lane Vacala posted the fourth fastest time, 2.666 seconds slower than Block. Patrick Gruszka rounded the top five, 1.008 seconds slower than Vacala. 


Casper Jansson also took the win in the semifinals. Posting a time 1.413 seconds faster than championship rival Lane Vacala. Patrick Gruszka finished third fastest, 2.507 seconds slower than Vacala. Lia Block set the fourth fastest time, 4.781 seconds slower than fellow American Rally Association driver Gruszka. Eric Gordon and Jimmy Henderson tied for fifth. As neither driver finished the race and both retired on the same lap. 


Casper Jansson also won the finals, to secure his second win of the season. Jansson would set a time 5.755 seconds faster than Lane Vacala to secure the win. Lia Block finished third fastest, 0.351 seconds slower than Vacala. Eric Gordon posted the fourth fastest time, 12.742 seconds slower than Block. Jimmy Henderson rounded out the top five, finishing 11.536 seconds slower than Gordon. Patrick Gruszka unfortunately rolled out during the finals.

Championship Standings

Lane Vacala takes the NEXT championship lead after the first day of Nitrocross Phoenix. Vacala now sits 14 points ahead of Jimmy Henderson. Reigning champion Casper Jansson sits third in the championship, 21 points behind Henderson. Eric Gordon drops to fourth in the championship, now Gordon sits 4 points behind Jansson. Lia Block retains fifth in the championship, closing the gap between her and Gordon to 31 points from 42. This comes after Block took home her first Nitrocross NEXT podium.