Verstappen Leads On Day 1 of Testing in Bahrain

February 21, 2024Ramon Jones
Formula 1

Max Verstappen picked up where he left off in 2023 on day one of testing in Bahrain. It was the debut of the new RB20 which features a number of changes from last year’s car. Verstappen logged 143 laps on the day and had a brief exchange at the top with McLaren man Lando Norris who’s fastest time was 1.1 seconds behind Verstappen. If this result carries through the weekend Verstappen may once again as the man to beat in 2024.

Verstappen said: “It feels good to be back in an F1 car again and I had fun out on track today. We covered a lot of laps and tried quite a few things with the car, which was important, so happy overall with how it went. After the winter break, the first few laps always surprise you a little but then you get back into the swing of things pretty quickly. Overall, the car was responding well and considering this was only testing we had a nice day. Looking to tomorrow, we are speaking to our engineers about what the plans will be, but I am looking forward to getting into the car in the afternoon.”

Positive Day for RB, Haas Struggles Continue

Daniel Ricciardo led the way for RB finishing just behind the Ferrari of Carlos Sainz; 4th fastest. The RB appears to have found a new swing of pace and confidence. The VCARB 01 program has undergone multiple personnel changes so it will be intriguing to see if they can continue this pace moving forward over then next couple of days. Yuki Tsnoda didn’t quite keep up on day one but the team seems satisfied with the performance of both drivers on day one of testing.

Haas ended the day at the bottom of the table on day one in Bahrain. Kevin Magnussen and Nico Hulkenburg were over 4.5 seconds slower than Verstappen. If Haas are going to turn things around they will need to find some chemistry with the Lewis Hamilton and Sergio Perez did not set a time on day one of the test.

Full Day One Results Are Below

1Max VerstappenRed Bull1:31.344s 142
2Lando NorrisMclaren1:32.484s+1.140s72
3Carlos SainzFerrari1:32.584s+1.240s69
4Daniel RicciardoRB1:32.599s+1.255s51
5Pierre GaslyAlpine1:32.805s+1.461s60
6Lance StrollAston Martin1:33.007s+1.663s53
7Charles LeclercFerrari1:33.247s+1.903s64
8Fernando AlonsoAston Martin1:33.385s+2.041s77
9Oscar PiastriMclaren1:33.658s+2.314s57
10Zhou GuanyuSauber1:33.871s+2.527s62
11Logan SargeantWilliams1:33.882s+2.538s21
12George RussellMercedes1:34.109s+2.765s121
13Yuki TsunodaRB1:34.136s+2.792s64
14Valtteri BottasSauber1:34.431s+3.087s68
15Alexander AlbonWilliams1:34.587s+3.243s40
16Esteban OconAlpine1:34.677s+3.333s60
17Kevin MagnussenHaas1:35.692s+4.348s66
18Nico HulkenbergHaas1:35.906s+4.562s82