Norris Secures “Long Overdue” First Formula 1 Win in Miami

May 5, 2024Ramon Jones
Formula 1

Lando Norris broke Max Verstappen’s grasp on grand prix wins in 2024 by making the best of tire strategy in the Miami Grand Prix this afternoon. It all came down to the single pit stop made by Lando that allowed him to pull far enough away that Verstappen couldn’t regain the lead with the number of laps left in the race. The race was largely uneventful with many of the driver complaining about tire choices and surface grip. The drivers all struggled with car setups early in the weekend. They had one advantage with the sprint race to get actual race pace data to fine tune the cars for today’s Grand Prix.

Lando Norris Secures First F1 Win

Lando Norris has finally joined the record books as a Formula 1 race winner. “About time!” Norris said. “What a race. It’s been a long time coming, but finally I’ve managed to do it. I’m so happy for my whole team, I finally delivered for them. A long day, tough race, but finally on top so I’m over the moon. What do I say to them? I’m just proud really. A lot of people doubted me along the way. I’ve made a lot of mistakes over my last five years, my short career, but today we put it all together so this is all for the team. I stuck with McLaren because I could believe in them and I did believe in them. Today proved exactly that.”

Norris benefitted from the safety car that came out when Logan Sargeant crashed out of the Miami Grand Prix. Under the safety car Norris was able to save tire life which played into his hands at the end of the race. By the time the green flag flew there weren’t enough laps left in the race for Verstappen to catch Norris. Verstappen struggled with turning the car; a complaint he had all weekend despite winning the sprint race yesterday. Verstappen still is well in the drivers championship lead after the weekend with Sergio Perez retaining second place after his 4th place finish. He finished behind Charles Leclerc.

Full Miami Grand Prix Results

14Lando NorrisMCLAREN MERCEDES571:30:49.87625
21Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT57+7.612s18
316Charles LeclercFERRARI57+9.920s15
411Sergio PerezRED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT57+14.650s12
555Carlos SainzFERRARI57+16.407s10
644Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES57+16.585s8
722Yuki TsunodaRB HONDA RBPT57+26.185s6
863George RussellMERCEDES57+34.789s4
914Fernando AlonsoASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES57+37.107s2
1031Esteban OconALPINE RENAULT57+39.746s1
1127Nico HulkenbergHAAS FERRARI57+40.789s0
1210Pierre GaslyALPINE RENAULT57+44.958s0
1381Oscar PiastriMCLAREN MERCEDES57+49.756s0
1424Zhou GuanyuKICK SAUBER FERRARI57+49.979s0
153Daniel RicciardoRB HONDA RBPT57+50.956s0
1677Valtteri BottasKICK SAUBER FERRARI57+52.356s0
1718Lance StrollASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES57+55.173s0
1823Alexander AlbonWILLIAMS MERCEDES57+76.091s0
1920Kevin MagnussenHAAS FERRARI57+84.683s0

Magnussen received a 10-second time penalty for causing a collision and a 20-second time penalty for entering the pits during a Safety Car period and not changing tires. Stroll received a 10-second time penalty for leaving the track and gaining an advantage. Sainz received a five-second time penalty for causing a collision.