António Félix da Costa Wins the Berlin ePrix For Third Time

May 12, 2024Kimberly Kay
Formula E

In the world of sustainable racing António Félix da Costa secured a historic third win at Tempelhof in Berlin to earn the TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E team its first victory on home turf. Da Costa secured the lead early in the race and held out until the end; fending off an eager Mitch Evans behind who was poised to pounce. Evans however ended up making a mistake on lap 31 of the race where he lost out on track position to da Costa allowing for da Costa to pull away and ultimately he would never be caught. Evans ran wide in the encounter and lost out on a podium position finish.

António Félix da Costa Comments on the Win

After the race António Félix da Costa said, “It just feels great to win at a home race for Porsche, it’s amazing. We’ve got so many guests here: so many people who work in the factory that don’t normally get to come to the races, our Board members are here, so it’s definitely a special one.

Honestly, it’s been a tough start to the season and we’ve been building a really good momentum, always closing the gap to the championship leaders and it feels good to take this one. You have to work hard when things aren’t right, but when you have the right people around you it makes it a little bit easier. I want to dedicate to this to my engineer’s father-in-law who passed away this week, so it’s for him and his family.”

Nick Cassidy Inherits P2

After Mitch Evans had his off, teammate Nick Cassidy inherited the position and finished P2. He had the following words. “Ultimately, it’s been a great weekend for us. I feel sorry for Mitch [Evans], he lost out a bit, but I feel like we both could’ve maybe had a bit of a better race. We try to work together – that sometimes works, it sometimes doesn’t, but we gave it our best. It was an eventful race but ultimately it’s been a fantastic weekend. I’m proud of my guys and girls. We turned things around a bit overnight and had a really fast package today – it has been a really good day. António drove fantastically today and when he picked up the pace at the end, I thought he was quicker than us as well, so a really deserved win and I’m so happy for him.

For the title fight, we’ve just got to keep doing what we’re doing. The team’s done an amazing job, I’m really enjoying it and I’m really proud to be driving for Jaguar TCS Racing.”

Full Berlin ePrix Results are Below

1A. Felix da Costa/PORSCHE TEAM4147’55.043
2N. Cassidy/JAGUAR RACING41+0.69147’55.7340.691
3O. Rowland/NISSAN E.DAMS41+2.82047’57.8632.129
4P. Wehrlein/PORSCHE TEAM41+4.14747’59.1901.327
5J. Dennis/ANDRETTI FORMULA E41+4.54847’59.5910.401
6M. Evans/JAGUAR RACING41+4.95347’59.9960.405
7J. Daruvala/MASERATI RACING41+6.03248’01.0751.079
8T. Barnard/MCLAREN41+6.69848’01.7410.666
9J. Eriksson/ENVISION RACING41+7.11948’02.1620.421
10J. Vergne/DS PENSKE41+7.35748’02.4000.238
11L. di Grassi/TEAM ABT41+8.20448’03.2470.847
12J. Hughes/MCLAREN41+10.34948’05.3922.145
13S. Sette Camara/ERT FORMULA E TEAM41+10.40348’05.4460.054
14P. Aron/ENVISION RACING41+11.12448’06.1670.721
15K. van der Linde/TEAM ABT41+11.78048’06.8230.656
16E. Mortara/MAHINDRA RACING41+12.14348’07.1860.363
17D. Ticktum/ERT FORMULA E TEAM41+12.64248’07.6850.499
18J. King/MAHINDRA RACING41+16.49448’11.5373.852
19N. Nato/ANDRETTI FORMULA E41+20.85148’15.8944.357
20S. Vandoorne/DS PENSKE41+36.75348’31.79615.902
S. Fenestraz/NISSAN E.DAMS and M. Gunther/MASERATI RACING did not finish the race.